FCC launches last settlement window for LPFM applicants!

On December 23, 2014, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) released the third and last public notice to begin a major settlement period for low power FM (LPFM) applicants in southeastern states. You can find the FCC's public notice here and check here to see if your application is listed.

Here's what you ought to know about the FCC's recent public notice:

- It announces the tentative selectees (point-winners) in 96 competition groups ('mutually exclusive groups’) from the following states - Alabama, Arkansas. Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, and Texas.

- It kicks off a 30-day period for the public to file Petitions to Deny and Informal Objections against the tentative selectees. The list of tentative selectees can be found in the appendix of the public notice. The public has until January 23, 2015 to file petitions and objections against applicants in these states.

- It also kicks off the beginning of a 90-day settlement period during which LPFM applicants can file voluntary timeshare agreements and major amendments (i.e. non-adjacent channel changes and site relocations of greater than 5.6 kilometers). Applicants in these states have until March 23, 2015 at 6 pm ET to submit these materials.

Go forth, and seize the airwaves! 

Additional Resources:

Full text of Tentative Selectee Public Notice for southeastern states
Appendix to Public Notice
Legal resources
Petitions to Deny and Informal Objections
Prometheus Services




fcc-14-211a11.pdf202.78 KB
fcc-14-211a21.pdf128.31 KB
abc.jpg14.61 KB